The Shenandoah Valley Workforce Investment Board is an incorporated, non-profit organization serving 16 localities in Northwestern Virginia. The SVWIB operates five Valley Workforce Centers and directs numerous workforce initiatives partnering with business, education, economic development, and other community and faith-based organizations to thoroughly understand the current labor market and to develop innovative solutions to address broad regional workforce issues.

Specific programs include Workforce Investment Act (WIA), Adult and Dislocated Worker Programs, Youth Programs, Valley OJT, and the Shenandoah Valley Energy Partnership.


Physical Address
217 South Liberty Street, Ste 203
Harrisonburg, VA 22801

Mailing Address
P.O. Box 869
Harrisonburg, VA 22803

(540) 437-9808


Dial (540) 442-7134 then enter the specific extension number listed below.

  • Chief Executive Officer
    Sharon Johnson
    Ext. 110
  • Chief Financial Officer
    Cathi Ritter
    Ext 103
  • Chief Operations Officer
    Loretta Snow
    Ext. 102
  • Director, Workforce Development
    Business Services Specialist

    Debby Hopkins
    Ext. 105
  • Operations and Workforce Coordinator
    Debbie Berry
    Ext. 101
  • Program Specialist
    Darlene Jackson
    Ext. 104
  • Operations Consultant
    Dana Armentrout
    Ext. 101
  • Administrative Coordinator
    Susan Schoenthaler
    Ext. 100

Business Services


To develop and sustain a demand driven workforce system with a single point of contact that allows businesses and employers to access needed services within the system, and to develop comprehensive solutions for workforce needs.

Menu of Services
  • Outplacement Assistance
  • Labor Market Information, Workforce Research
  • Post Job Openings
  • Workforce Training Scholarships
  • On-the-Job Training Opportunities
  • Assist with Recruiting
For further information please contact:

Debby Hopkins (540) 442-7134 | dhopkins@valleyworkforce.com

Board Meeting Schedules

SVWIB Executive Committee Meeting

SVWIB Board Members

Shenandoah Valley Workforce Investment Board Members
  • Public Sector
    • Jeanian Clark
      Lord Fairfax Community College
      Assistant VP Workforce & Continuous Education
    • Gary Keener
      Dabney S. Lancaster Community College
      VP Workforce Services
    • John Downey
      Blue Ridge Community College
    • Carol Fleming
      James Madison University
      Interim Assistant Vice Provost
    Organized Labor
    • John Albert
      IBEW Local 50
      Treasurer/Business Representative/VA AFL-CIO
    • Jerry Lewis
      IBEW Local 26
      Rehabilitative Services Director
    Community Based Organizations
    • Paul McFarland
      Friendship Industries, Inc.
      Rehabilitation Director
    • Rob Goldsmith
      People Inc.
      President and CEO
    Economic Development
    • Brian Brown
      City of Buena Vista
      Director of Economic Development
    • Patrick Barker
      Winchester - Frederick County Economic Development Commission
      Executive Director
    Other Public Sector
    • Don Mutersbaugh
      Ordained Minister
    DARS (WIA Title IV)
    • Cynthia S Roberts
      Department for Aging & Rehabilitative Services
      Business Development Manger
    Agency on Aging (Older American Act Title V)
    • Linda Matthews
      Goodwill Industries of the Valleys, Inc.
      VP Workforce Development
    Department of Social Services
    • Meredith Downey
      Rockbridge Area DSS, Welfare to Work
    VEC (Wagner-Peyser)
    • Donna Holloway
      Virginia Employment Commission
      Winchester Local Office Manager
    Redevelopment & Housing Authority
    • Michael Wong
      Harrisonburg Redevelopment & Housing Authority
      Executive Director
    Nationally Funded Entity (Migrant & Seasonal Worker Programs
    • Nelson Diaz
      Telamon Corporation - Virginia
      Program Coordinator
  • Private Sector
    Augusta County
    • Pam Snyder
      Comsonics, Inc
      Director Human Resources
    • Charlease Deathridge
      McKee Foods corporation
      Human Resources Manger
    Bath County
    • Jonah Windham
      Vine Cottage Inn
    Clarke County
    • Tricia James
      Edward Jones Investments
      Financial Advisor
    Frederick County
    • Chris Neff
      Axiom Staffing Group
      Branch Manager
    Highland County
    • Robin Sullenberger
    Other Private Sector
    • Seth A Liskey
      Edward Jones Investments
      Winchester Local Office Manager
    Page County
    • Ira (Mike) Lowe
      Sullivan Mechanical Contractors, Inc.
      Safety Director/Purchasing Manager
    Rockingham County
    • Jeff Stapel
      Shickel Corporation
      Human Resources Director
    • Daniel Blosser
      Riddleberger Brothers, Inc.
      President, Construction Group
    Rockbridge County
    • Karen A Parker
      Rockbridge Area Hospice
      Business Manager
    Shenandoah County
    • Kip Brannon
      CMC Howell Metal
      Vice President Operations
    City of Buena Vista
    • Janice Shanks
      Everbrite, Inc.
      Human Resource Officer
    City of Waynesboro
    • Steve Burnette
      Senior Human Resource Mananger
    City of Harrisonburg
    • Brydie Ragan
      T&E Meats
      Business Manager
    • Bonnie Keppel
      Rockingham Memorial Hospital
      HRD Mgr, Total Rewards & H.R.I.S. HR
    City of Lexington
    • Melissa Scholl
      Lexington Coffee Roasters
    • Carroll Comstock
      George C. Marshall Foundation
      Museum Operations Director
    • Kristy Conley
      Carilion Clinic - CSJH
      HR Consultant

Youth Council Board Members

  • Youth Council
    Chair / Treasurer
    • Paul McFarland
      Friendship Industries
      Director of Rehabilitation Services
    Board Members
    • Chris Johnson
      Gemeinschaft Home
      Program Coordinator
      Divine Unity Community Church, Harrisonburg
      Lead Pastor
    • Anthony Hill
      Skyline Middle School
      Dean of Students
      Harrisonburg City Schools
      Director of Alternative Ed Programs
    • Marcello Burrough
      Shenandoah Valley Juvenile Center
      Assistant Shift Supervisor
    • Myrtle Huff
      Department of Juvenile Justice
    • TBA
      Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority
      Family Self Sufficiency Program Manager
    • Basil Marin
      New Song Fellowship
      Lead Pastor
    • Lester Smith
      Youth Expert
      Retired Director
    • Lyda Kiser
      Lord Fairfax Community College
    • Gail Johnson
      Dabney S. Lancaster Community College
      Assistant to the President for Marketing and Recruiting
    • Teresa Blum
      Highland Elementary School
    • Jennifer Rexrode
      Valley Career and Technical Center
      Assistant Principal
    • Michael Parham
      Team Leader
      Blue Streak Teen Center
      Former Teen Center Director
    • Doug Gurth
      Regional Account Executive
    • Tish Harris
      Shenandoah Valley Workforce Investment Board, Inc.
      Operations Officer, Staff Liaison to the Youth Council